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PROFILE

Purpose/Authority

The Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers operates under the Code of Alabama 1975,
Section 34-14-1 through 34-14-34 to license and regulate hearing aid specialists and
hearing aid dispensers. Hearing aid specialists and hearing aid dispensers measure human
hearing for the purpose of selecting, adapting, or selling hearing instruments. The
Board’s mission is to protect and promote public health and welfare by licensing,
regulating, and conducting complaint investigations and hearings against licensees.

The following legislation was passed since the last Sunset Review of the Board.

Act No. 112, Acts of Alabama 2016 amended Section 34-14-1 through 34-14-9; Sections
34-14-11, 34-14-30- 34-14-32, and 34-14-33 to further define terms, to remove specific
dollar amounts for fees, to clarify reciprocity requirements, to reflect adoption by the
board of international standardized test procedures, to require an apprentice to be under
the direct supervision of a licensed dispenser, deleted antiquated language and added
Section 34-14-34 to specify the fees the board may provide pursuant to administrative
rule. The Act is included in the codification included in the appendix of this report.

Characteristics

Members and The Board consists of eight members appointed by the
Selection Governor from a list of qualified persons nominated by the
Alabama Society of Hearing Healthcare Providers.

Six members currently serving.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-30

Term Four years. No member who has served two or more full
terms may be reappointed to the Board until at least one-year
after expiration of his or her full term of office.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-30




Quialifications

Members shall be citizens and residents of this state.

e Five licensees, one of whom may be a hearing aid
specialist, with three years’ experience.

e One physician who specializes in diseases of the ear

e One audiologist

e One consumer member who has no voting powers in the
matters of issuing, suspending, or revoking licenses and
neither the consumer member nor his or her spouse, shall
be a hearing aid specialist or dispenser.

No member can be from the same business or firm of another
Board member and no member can be the spouse or
immediate family member of another Board member.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-30(b)

Consumer
Representation

One member required by statute.
Consumer member position currently vacant.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-30(b)

Racial
Representation

No statutory requirement
One black member serving

Geographical
Representation

No statutory requirement

Other
Representation

The membership shall be inclusive and reflect the racial,
gender, geographic, urban/rural, and economic diversity of
the state.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-30(b)

Compensation

$25 per day for each day actually engaged in the duties of the
office; not to exceed the sum of $1,000 per year and travel
expense reimbursement the same as state employees receive.
Board members have waived their rights to receive the $25
per day compensation and travel expenses for attending Board
functions.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-30(e)

Attended Board
Member Training

Three Board members
Executive Secretary
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Operations

Administrator

Marilyn Fletcher, Executive Secretary, contract employee.
Current annual contract amount through November 30, 2020
shall not exceed $22,860.00 per year plus travel expense not
to exceed $1,000 annually.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-30(f)

Location 400 South Union Street, Suite 235B
Montgomery, AL 36130
Office Hours: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm.
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday
Employees One part-time contract employee.

Legal Counsel

Bill Garrett, Assistant Attorney General, employee of the
Attorney General’s Office

Subpoena Power

Yes, records and witnesses

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-11(c)

Internet Presence

http://www.alabamahidb.us
e Home

About

Laws & Rules

Forms & Applications
Testing & CEU Infor
Contact/Comment

Financial

Source of Funds

License fees and penalties

State Treasury

Yes, Special Revenue Fund 0770

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-33

Required
Distributions

None

Unused Funds

All unused funds remain at year-end for the Board’s use.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-33



http://www.alabamahidb.us/

Licensee Information

Licensees

As of February 26, 2020

Hearing Aid Dispensers 60
Hearing Aid Specialist 68
Apprentices 12

Total 140

Source: Executive Secretary

Quialifications

In order to become a licensed Hearing Instrument Dealer in
the State of Alabama you must pay the required fees and meet
the following requirements:

e At least 19 years of age

e Good moral character

e Have an education equivalent to a four-year course in
an accredited high school

e Free of contagious or infectious disease

e A citizen of the United States or legally present

e Pass a qualifying examination

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-4

Examinations

Hearing Aid Dispensers are required to pass a written exam
developed, administered, and graded by the National Board of
Hearing Instruments Specialists before being certified.

Hearing Aid Specialists must pass a practical exam developed
and administered by the International Hearing Society. The
Board grades the exam.

Hearing Aid Specialists must also pass a computer-based
international licensing exam developed, administered, and
graded by the International Hearing Society. The computer-
based exam is given at the following locations: Lawson State
Community College, Birmingham; University of Alabama —
Birmingham; Jefferson Sate Community College — Jefferson
Campus; Jefferson State Community College — Shelby
Campus; Tennessee Valley Training Center — Decatur; The
University of Alabama — Huntsville; The Exam Center —
Millbrook; and the Tennessee Valley Training Center —
Mobile.




Practical Examination

Year # Taken # Passed % Passed
2016 17 17 100%
2017 16 15 94%
2018 11 11 100%
2019 14 13 93%

International Licensing Examination

Year # Taken # Passed % Passed
2016 23 10 43%
2017 23 10 43%
2018 16 6 38%
2019 14 6 43%

In addition, Hearing Aid Specialists must pass a state law
exam developed, administered, and graded by the Board.

State Law Examination

Year Total Pass % Passing
2016 17 17 100%
2017 16 16 100%
2018 11 11 100%
2019 14 14 100%

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-4 and 34-14-5

Reciprocity

The Board may issue a license to an applicant from another
state or jurisdiction if the requirements for licensure are
equivalent to or more stringent than Alabama law. The Board
currently does not have any reciprocal agreements.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-3(c)

Renewals

Annually, on or before January 30.

After expiration of a 30-day grace period, the Board may
renew licenses upon payment of a reinstatement fee plus the
regular renewal fee.

Online renewals are not available.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-6(a)
Administrative Rule 445-X-1-.03(4)(b)

Licensee
Demographics

Data not collected by agency.




Continuing 10 hours annually
Education
Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-6(c)
Administrative Rule 445-X-1-.05

SIGNIFICANT ISSUES

Significant Issue 2020-01 - Sixteen of the forty licensees responding to our survey
stated that the most significant issue currently facing their profession is over the
counter (OTC) or online hearing aid sales. The Board has no jurisdiction over people
who sell over the counter or online hearing aids since the federal government passed the
Food and Drug Administration Reauthorization Act of 2017 prohibiting state or local
governments from prohibiting the restriction or interference with the servicing,
marketing, sale, dispensing, customer service support, or distribution of over the counter
hearing aids.

Board’s Response — The Board is sympathetic to licensees regarding over the counter
(OTC) and internet sales of hearing aids. However, it cannot prohibit by statute or rule
an activity permitted by federal law. The Board does continue to protect the public
through its licensure, adoption of practice regulations and enforcement of those
regulations.

STATUS OF PRIOR FINDINGS/SIGNIFICANT ISSUES

All prior findings/significant issues have been resolved except for the following:

Prior Finding 2019-01 -The Board did not notify the Secretary of State of a vacancy
occurring as a result of the expiration of a board member whose terms expired December
31, 2018,

The Code of Alabama 1975, Section 36-14-17(d)(1) states, “The chair of an existing board
shall notify the Secretary of State by electronic means of a vacancy scheduled to occur on
the board as a result of the expiration of a term at least 45 days before the vacancy occurs.”

Current Status - The Board did not notify the Secretary of State of vacancies occurring
as a result of the expiration of the terms of four board members whose terms expired
December 31, 20109.

Board’s Response — The board was made aware of the 45 days to post vacancies on the
Secretary of State’s website as a result of the expiration of a board member whose term
expires. The board is taking the necessary steps to ensure compliance with the Open
Meeting Act requirements.




ORGANIZATION

Board

Executive
Secretary

PERSONNEL

The Board contracts with Marilyn Fletcher, a white female, to serve as the Board’s
Executive Secretary. The current contract is effective from December 1, 2019 through
November 30, 2020, at an annual amount of $22,860.00 plus travel not to exceed

$1,000.00 annually.

Legal Counsel

Bill Garrett, Assistant Attorney General, an employee of the Attorney General Office,

provides legal services for the Board.

PERFORMANCE CHARACTERISTICS

Number of Persons per Licensee in Alabama and Surrounding States

Population Number of Persons Per

(estimate)* Licensees Licensee
Alabama 4,903,185 140 35,023
Florida 21,477,737 986 21,783
Georgia 10,617,423 724 14,665
Mississippi 2,976,149 70 42,516
Tennessee 6,829,174 175 39,024

*Source: U.S. Census, December 2019 Population Estimates
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Operating Disbursements per Licensee (FY 2019) - $280.56

Fines/Penalties as a Percentage of Operating Receipts - The Board has not levied any
fines or penalties since the last sunset.

Notification of Board Decisions to Amend Administrative Rules

The Board complied with notification procedures prescribed in the Administrative
Procedure Act, which includes publication of proposed rules in the Administrative
Monthly, and public hearings on proposed rules. Licensees are not specifically notified of
proposed changes. Notice is posted on the Board’s website.

COMPLAINT HANDLING

Any person wishing to make a complaint against a licensee or apprentice under this
chapter shall reduce the same to writing and file his or her complaint with the Board
within one year from the date of the action upon which the complaint is based. If the
Board investigates and determines the charges made in the complaint are sufficient to
warrant a hearing to determine whether the license issued under this chapter shall be
suspended or revoked it shall make an order fixing a time and place for a hearing and
require the licensee complained against to appear and defend against the complaint. The
Board does not have jurisdiction over non-licensees. Complaints against non-licensees
are referred to the Attorney General’s Office, Consumer Protection Division. (Code of
Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-9(a)

Initial Contact/Documentation Complaints may be filed by Board members or
any person. Complaint forms are required and
are located on the Board’s website.
Complainants are notified by mail when the
complaint is received.

Anonymous Complaints No.

Accepted

Investigative Process / Probable | The Board’s chairman investigates complaints

Cause Determination and is recused from voting.

Negotiated Settlements Yes

Notification of Resolution to the | Complaints are notified by mail stating why the

Complainant Board resolved the complaint with references to
the Board’s statutes in determining the action
taken.

Source: Executive Secretary

The Board did not have any complaints within the last two fiscal years.
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REGULATION IN CONJUNCTION WITH OTHER ENTITIES

Audiologists can fit and sell hearing aid instruments but are exempt from regulation by
the Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers. They are licensed and regulated by the
Alabama Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology.

The Federal Food and Drug Administration exercises federal regulatory jurisdiction over
hearing instrument dealers and issues regulations applicable to hearing instrument dealers
that specify requirements for medical evaluation by a licensed physician, record keeping,
required warnings, and penalties.

FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Source of Funds — Licensee fees, fines, and penalties

Fund - The Board operates through Special Revenue Fund 0770 in the State Treasury,
authorized by the Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-33. The Board retains unused
balances for subsequent years’ expenditures.

Schedule of Fees

The Code of Alabama 1975, Section 34-14-34 authorizes the Board to set fees within a
range between $25 - $1,000.00, and Section 34-14-9 authorizes the Board to collect
administrative fines. The Board’s fees are set in Administrative Rule 445-X-1-.03(7).

FEE TYPE/PURPOSE AMOUNT COLLECTED
Initial Application Fee $250
Hearing Aid Specialist License Fee $200
Hearing Aid Dispenser License Fee $250
Hearing Aid Specialist Renewal Fee $200
Hearing Aid Dispenser Renewal Fee $250
Apprentice Permit Fee $125
Apprentice Renewal Fee $125
Examination Fee $200
Late Filing — Statement of Compliance $ 25
Late Renewal Fee $ 50
Reinstatement Fee $200
Duplicate License, Certificate, or Permit Fee $ 25
Replacement License, Certificate, or Permit Fee $ 25
Verification of License $ 25
Mailing List Fee $ 25
Administrative Fine < $1,000 per violation




Schedule of Receipts, Dishursements and Balances
October 1, 2015 through September 30, 2019

2018 -2019 2017-2018 2016-2017 2015 -2016

Receipts
Licensing Fees $45,275.00 $43,800.00 $40,900.00 $27,575.00
AL Society for Hearing Healthcare Providers - - 5,000.00 7,700.00
Total 45275.00  43,800.00  45900.00  35,275.00

Disbursements

Personnel Costs 22,680.00 21,780.00  21,610.10  20,760.00
Employee Benefits 1,735.02 1,666.17 1,653.18 1,588.14
Rentals and Leases 8,755.92 8,713.42 8,500.92 8,584.10
Utilities and Communication 186.48 151.95 192.49 542.39
Professional Services 4,009.29 3,562.62 3,025.16 4,409.10
Supplies, Materials, and Operating Expenses 1,911.32 2,150.51 2,646.21 2,757.68

Total 39,278.03  38,024.67  37,628.06  38,641.41

Excess (Deficiency) of Receipts over Disbursement:  5,996.97 5,775.33 8,271.94 (3,366.41)

Cash Balances at Beginning of Year 44 511.49 38,736.16 30,464.22 33,830.63
Cash Balances at End of Year 50,508.46 4451149  38,736.16  30,464.22
Reserved for Unpaid Obligiations (400.00) (450.00) (200.00) (100.00)
Unreserved Cash Balances at End of Year $50,108.46 $44,061.49 $38536.16 $30,364.22
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Operating Receipts vs. Operating Disbursements (Chart)

$50,000
$45,000
$40,000
$35,000
$30,000
$25,000
$20,000
$15,000
$10,000
$5,000
$0

—
—

2016

2017

2018

2019

=-Receipts

$35,275

$45,900

$43,800

$45,275

=®-Disbursements

$38,641

$37,628

$38,025

$39,278

11




SUMMARY SCHEDULE OF PROFESSIONAL SERVICE DISBURSEMENTS*

As of September 30
Type of Service 2016 2017 2018 2019
Administrative Services | $ 4,409.10 |$ 3.025.16 |$ 221262 |$ 4,009.29
Data Processing - - 1,350.00 -
Total $ 4409.10 | $ 302516 [$ 3,562.62 | $ 4,009.29

*Detailed information presented in the appendix.
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Board Member Questionnaire

QUESTIONNAIRES

Board Member Questionnaire

A letter was sent to all six members of the Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers
requesting participation in our survey. Four participated in the survey. The percentages,
where shown, are based on the number who responded to the question.

1.

2.

4.

What are the most significant issues currently facing the Board of Hearing
Instrument Dealers and how is the Board addressing these issues?

Board Member #1 — “l am a new member. This doesn’t apply to me.”

Board Member #2 — “NONE THAT | KNOW OF NEW TO THE BOARD.”

Board Member #3 — “Sales tax on hearing aids, there is not anything that can be done.”
Board Member #4 —“The Board is currently addressing how our licensees report their
annual continuing education is being done to streamline processing and insuring our
licensees have all the necessary paperwork turned in a complete fashion by their
deadline dates.”

What changes, if any, to the Board’s law are needed?

Board Member #1 — “ Monitoring clinics being ran without licensed specialists or
proper supervision.”

Board Member #2 — “None”

Board Member #3 — “We need someone to enforce the laws and go out to offices for
audit.”

Board Member #4 — “We currently are not looking at any changes to the law. Our
laws and rules have been updated in recent years currently are meeting the needs of the
board.”

Is the Board adequately funded?

Yes 2 50%
No 2 50%

Board Member #1 —“I am not sure. However, since there isn’t compensation for travel
seems like an issue.”

Is the Board adequately staffed?

Yes 3 75%
No 1 25%
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Board Member Questionnaire

Board Member #1 — “Not sure.”
Board Member #4 — “Our Executive Secretary is extremely efficient and works hard
to meet the needs of the Board.”

5. Does the Board receive regular reports on the operations of the board from the
chief administrative officer?

Yes 3 75%
No 1 25%

Board Member #1 - “Not sure, new member.”
Board Member #3 - “We would be lost without our Executive Secretary!!! She
needs more money!!!!”
6. Are you satisfied with the reports received from the Executive Secretary?
Yes 40 100%

7. Has the Board experienced any significant changes to its operations?

Yes 1 25%
No 3 75%

Board Member #1- “Not sure, new member.”
8. Does the Board plan any significant changes in its operations?
Board Member # 1 — “Again, have not attended a meeting, Not prepared to speak on
most of these issues.”
Board Member # 2 — “ not that | know of”

Board Member # 3 — “We have had some really good changes, already.”
Board Member # 4 — “ No significant changes are being planned.”

14



Licensee Questionnaire

Licensee Questionnaire

A letter was sent to one hundred and thirty-seven licensees requesting participation in our
survey. Forty participated in the survey. The percentages, where shown, are based on the
number who responded to the question.

1. Do you think regulation of your profession by the Board of Hearing Instrument
Dealers is necessary to protect the public welfare?

Yes 40 100%

Respondent #33 -“Regulation is necessary for best patient care and provider
policies.”

Respondent #38 - “For patient safety and fairness in the market for the public to have
access to qualify hearing instruments from a dispenser of their choice.”

2. Do you think any of the Board’s requirements are irrelevant to the competent
practice of your profession?

Yes 1 2%
No 39 98 %

3. Do you think any of the Board’s laws, rules, or policies are an unnecessary
restriction on the practice of your profession?

Yes 8 20%
No 31 7%
No Opinion 1 3%

Respondent #1 - “Recently, the Board established a requirement for a “Designated
Dispenser.” It was passed without notification or input from the dispensing license
holder. There is no purpose for this new position.”

Respondent #16 - “The recently pass requirement of each office having a designated
dispenser. | was never aware of this being added until a conversation with a
colleague. This is an unnecessary requirement.”

Respondent #17 - “The recent passage of the “Designated Dispenser” serves no
purpose. Not only was it passed without anyone’s knowledge, but the only purpose of
the new position is to generate money for the board!”

Respondent #24 - “Recently the board established a requirement for a “Designated
Dispenser”. It was passed without notification or input from the dispensing license
holders. There is NO purpose for this new position.”

Respondent # 34 - “CEU requirements for ‘legal’ would be better served if
requirements were amended to ONE CEU per year, versus the current 2 CEU’s every
other year. This would simplify this process while still providing same amount of
education during the same time period.”

15



Licensee Questionnaire

Respondent # 38 - “I think it is more the AL state legislature’s problem. Tax should
not be charged for hearing aids. It puts AL behind the times compared to the rest of
the country and places extra burden on consumers for medical devices.”
Respondent # 40 - “Because | only operate in one location. However, this is very
recent “new position” as fitter Designated Dispenser was created and passed without
any notice to members of our association. This kind of “behind the closed door”
behavior sets a dangerous precedent. | can see where this might hurt multiple offices
operations.”

4. Are you adequately informed by the Board of changes to and interpretations of
the Board’s positions, policies, rules, and laws?

Yes 33 83%
No 6 15%
No Opinion 1 2%

Respondent #1 - “Until the most recent “Designated Dispenser” rule, the board
always announced upcoming changes to either Title 34-14 or Alabama Code 445-X-
1 and sought input from license holders prior to implementing a new requirement,
rule, or law. | sincerely hope they return to their previous means of operations.”
Respondent #16 - “l was never notified of the upcoming law change. | have never
been on the state board but was on the society’s board and we worked closely with
the state board and kept the members informed of changes that were coming so that
we could get their input.”

Respondent #24 - “Until the most recent “Designated Dispenser” rule, the board
always announced upcoming changes to either the Title 34-14 or Alabama Code 445-
X-1 and sought input from license holders prior to implementing a new requirement,
rule or law. I sincerely hope they return to their previous means of operations.”
Respondent #40 - “Not this past year and with this new addition.”

5. Has the Board performed your licensing and renewal in a timely manner?

Yes 40 100%
Respondent #1 — is always timely and accurate.”
Respondent #17 - is GREAT!”

6. Do you consider mandatory continuing education necessary for competent
practice?

Yes 40 100%

Respondent #11 - “But, ALL should be available online as well as in a class room.”
Respondent #12 - “People who have had their license for 20 years or more should be
subject to some form of competency hearing to make sure they are still able to do the
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Licensee Questionnaire

job mentally and that they are at least remember the basics of giving a hearing test
and identifying a conductive hearing loss and when to refer to a doctor. | have dealt
first hand with someone in my opinion who is incapable of completing basic task to
do the job safe an in my opinion is a danger to the public to be allowed practice. To
allow older seniors who have had their license for decades to serve patients without
any sort of competency hearing is doing the public a disservice.”

Respondent #38 - “I believe continuing education should be for new information. I
don’t mind paying for new education, but | don’t like requirements to pay for credit
hours of information that is not new to the industry.”

7. Has the Board approved sufficient providers of continuing education to ensure
your reasonable access to necessary continuing education hours?

Yes 37 93%
No 2 5%
No Opinion 1 2%

Respondent #3 - “I really get all i need from the factory.”

Respondent #8 - “We are provided opportunities through Miracle-Ear corporate and
also IHS, so | have never needed to utilize the board’s resources.”

Respondent #11 - “All should be available online OR class room.”

Respondent #14 - “Board has made this easy and attainable.”

Respondent #20 - “l would like to see/hear better presenters.”

Respondent #34 - “This is an area that is extremely lacking. CEU requirements would
be better served if more venues are available to meet these requirements, and at a
more affordable cost.”

8. What do you think is the most significant issue(s) currently facing your
profession in Alabama and what is the Board doing to address the issues(s)?

Respondent # 1 - “ Manage Care (insurance) restricting Hearing Instrument
Specialist from access to provider referral lists due to a requirement to have a
Medicare Provider Number which automatically restricts companies that can access
these programs (HUMANA, United Health Care, etc.) to audiologists or ENT’s.”
Respondent # 3 - “over the counter aids for people who need more they are fooled by
price and they need to be regulated”

Respondent # 5 - “OTC hearing Aids”

Respondent # 6 - “BlueCross BlueShield not paying in a timely manner. | don’t
believe they are doing anything to address this issue.”

Respondent # 7 - “the OTC hill”

Respondent # 8 - “I think that OTC bill is the most significant issue that we are
facing.”

Respondent # 9 - “On a more national level there should be better regulation on
claims made by TV ads for mail order or OTC instruments. Patients are being duped
into comfortable, poorly self fit instruments, that does not meet their hearing needs. It
makes our industry as a whole look crooked and out to trick those in need of help.
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Licensee Questionnaire

For new practitioners there should be more transparency on what constitutes as a
passing tests score (i.e. 90%, 80%, 75%) and areas of improvement from a post test
evaluation. Practitioners never know what they made on ILE and if they have not
passed what areas of study caused them to fail.

For patients, we really need to be lobbying to eliminate taxes on Hearing instruments.
It just makes it harder for patients to get the help they need.”

Respondent # 11 - “Online sales of hearing instruments.”

Respondent # 14 - “Recent legislation has passed which allows OTC (over the
counter) hearing devices. This most likely will create awareness and opportunities to
help more people become educated about hearing loss. | believe the Board is doing a
wonderful job in ensuring that those who are licensed stay education and also
progress in their professionalism so that we may be able to offer excellent care to the
hearing impaired. Some of the requirements, instituted the last several years, have
been beneficial in helping me personally become better in the hearing healthcare
field.”

Respondent # 16 - “1. Tax on hearing aids.

2. VA not utilizing Hearing Instruments Specialists to relieve some of their backlog
of patients.

3. Third party providers requiring testing and fitting to be done by audiologists. This
completely unnecessary and significantly narrows the point of entry for the public.”
Respondent # 17 - “The most significant issue is the restriction of insurance
companies to allow Hearing Instrument Specialists to receive referrals from Medicare
Advantage type programs. | am not aware of anything the board may be doing to help
Hearing Instrument Specialists be able to participate in many of the new managed
care plans.”

Respondent # 21 - “I think Over-the-Counter hearing aids that are coming out is the
most significant issue facing our profession in not only Alabama but across the
country and | hope the AL State Board is preparing to do anything to help use fight to
be able to keep our profession going.”

Respondent # 24 - “Managed Care (insurance) restricting Hearing Instrument
Specialist from access to provider referral lists due to a requirement to have a
Medicare Provider Number which automatically restricts companies that can access
these programs (HUMMANA, United Health Care, etc.) to audiologists or ENTS.”
Respondent # 25 - “Over the counter hearing devices. As Board Members and
hearing health professionals, we need to fight it again.”

Respondent # 26 - “OTC Hearing Aids, hopefully everything they can.”
Respondent # 27 - “unregulated hearing aid sales”

Respondent # 28 - “Competent candidates for licensing are unable to complete the
supervision and examination requirements in a timely fashion. To my knowledge, the
board is doing nothing to change the requirements set forth under a previous
chairperson.”

Respondent # 29 - “OTC Hearing aids. Educating us on the actual device offered
oTC.”

Respondent # 30 - “National licensure continuity — works with HIS to solve this
issue.”
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Licensee Questionnaire

Respondent # 31 - “Over the counter hearing aids and | think the board was trying to
stop that.”

Respondent # 33 - “At a minimum, insurance companies are dictating the care of the
patient and buying groups are allowing direct-to-consumer options for buying and
programming; not taking into consideration if a patient may have otitis media,
cerumen occlusion, etc., which are things local providers check regularly at no charge
to the pt. as part of our follow-up service and care. The Board fights to protect both
providers and the care of the patient through Congressional updates of changes,
educational options and regular meetings keep all providers informed of the industry,
FDA and insurance changes that are taking place. The waters are muddy, and our
Board helps us, as a collective whole, understand what is going on and how to
manage.”

Respondent # 34 - “Limited educational opportunities for required CEU’s.

At present, | am unaware of any actions from the Board to adequately address this
issue.”

Respondent # 35 - “I do not have any issues that come to mind.”

Respondent # 36 - “The biggest issue is that hearing devices can now be purchased
online and this is a concern due to possible medical conditions that would not be
addressed such as wax in ears or infection causing a hearing loss. This is an issue in
our profession. | do feel like the board does help to educate us on the new laws so that
we can help to educate the public.”

Respondent # 37 - “OVER THE COUNTER AIDS AND SALES TAX ON
HEARING AIDS IS RIDICULOUS”

Respondent # 38 - “Sales tax on medical devices is ridiculous. Also new legislature
limiting insurance benefits specifically medicare to only be approved by ENT and
audiologists will significantly lower the service provided for the public. | do not
discredit doctor’s offices and their expertise, but I believe if AL and the national
board of hearing licenses someone to be a Hearing Instrument Specialist they should
qualify to test, sell, and service any public person in their state.”

Respondent # 39 - “Online hearing aid sales.”

Respondent # 40 - “I would have to say, the restriction of HIS (Hearing Instrument
Specialist) to access managed care through insurance companies, such as Humana,
UHC, and others. This is because of a requirement to have a Medicare Provider
Number.”

Did not Respond 12

Do you think the Board and its staff are satisfactorily performing their duties?

Yes 35 88%
No 1 2%
No Opinion 4 10%

Respondent #1 - “I would encourage them to seek input on laws and regulations
prior to implementing them.”
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Licensee Questionnaire

Respondent #14 - “I have seen these men and women doing a good job in helping the
licensees maintain and grow in their profession.”

Respondent #17 - “We use to have more information on the actions of the board. It is
hard to find out what they are doing or what actions they are considering. That may
be a result of our Society not informing us more than the board not making the
information available. Regardless of whose fault it is, I would like more information
about their actions. Their actions directly affect us all!”

Respondent #18 - “ddoes an amazing job!”

Respondent #28 - “The staff is great. The board members rotate frequently and at
times it appears one group of members are gone before a new group has been
appointed.”

Respondent #34 - “Other than as specified in previous answers, | feel the Board is
performing satisfactorily.”

Respondent #40 - “(for the most part)”
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APPENDICES

Applicable Statutes

Article 1 General Provisions.

Section 34-14-1 Definitions.

For purposes of this chapter, the following words and phrases shall have the respective
meanings ascribed by this section:

(1) APPRENTICE. A person who has met the requirements of Section 34-14-7 and may
engage in the practice of fitting and dealing in hearing instruments only under the direct
supervision of a hearing aid dispenser or hearing aid specialist when designated by the
sponsoring dispenser.

(2) APPRENTICE PERMIT. A permit issued while the applicant is in training to become
a licensed hearing aid specialist.

(3) BOARD. The Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers.

(4) DIRECT SUPERVISION. On site and close contact whereby a supervisor is able to
respond quickly to the needs of the patient or client receiving care or the supervisee.

(5) HEARING AID DISPENSER. Any trained person who has met all requirements of
this chapter for licensure and who may engage in the practice of fitting and dealing in
hearing instruments without the direct supervision of any person.

(6) HEARING AID or HEARING INSTRUMENT. Any wearable instrument or device
designed for or offered for the purpose of aiding or compensating for impaired human
hearing.

(7) HEARING AID SPECIALIST. A trained, licensed person who may engage in the
practice of fitting and dealing in hearing instruments under the indirect supervision of a
hearing aid dispenser.

(8) INDIRECT SUPERVISION. Frequent and close contact whereby a supervisor is able
to respond quickly to the needs of the patient or client receiving care or the supervisee.
(9) LICENSE. A license issued by the board under this chapter to a hearing aid specialist
or hearing aid dispenser.

(10) PRACTICE OF FITTING AND DEALING IN HEARING INSTRUMENTS. The
measurement of human hearing by means of an audiometer or by other means approved
by the board solely for the purpose of making selections, adaptations, or sale of hearing
instruments. The term also includes the making of impressions for earmolds. A licensee
or permit holder, at the request of a physician or a member of related professions, may
make audiograms for the professional's use in consultation with the hard-of-hearing.

(11) SELL or SALE. Any transfer of title or of the right to use by lease, bailment, or any
other contract, excluding wholesale transactions with distributors or dealers.

(12) TELEPRACTICE. The practice as provided by rule of the board pursuant to
subdivision (10).

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 81; Acts 1991, No. 91-198, p. 365, 83; Acts 1994, No. 94-
180, p. 224, §3; Act 2016-112, §1.)
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Section 34-14-2 Licenses or permits - Required; display; duplicates; corporations,
partnerships, etc.

(a) No person shall engage in the sale of or practice of fitting hearing instruments or
display a sign or in any other way advertise or represent himself or herself as a person
who practices the fitting and sale of hearing instruments unless the person holds a license
or permit issued by the board as provided in this chapter. The license or permit shall be
conspicuously posted in his or her office or place of business. Duplicate licenses or
permits may be issued by the board to valid license holders operating more than one
office, upon additional payment determined by the board for each additional office. A
license under this chapter shall confer upon the holder the right to select, fit, and sell
hearing instruments.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit a corporation, partnership, trust, association, or
other like organization maintaining an established business address from engaging in the
business of selling or offering for sale hearing instruments at retail without a license;
provided, that it employs only properly licensed or permitted natural persons and that it
shall have at least one licensed Alabama dispenser on its staff to provide direct
supervision of any licensed hearing aid specialists or apprentices employed in the direct
sale and fitting of such products. Such corporations, partnerships, trusts, associations, or
other like organizations shall file annually with the board a list of all licensed hearing aid
dispensers, hearing aid specialists, and apprentices directly or indirectly employed by
them. Such organizations shall also file with the board a statement on a form approved by
the board that they submit themselves to the rules and regulations of the board and the
applicable provisions of this chapter.

(c) Nothing in this chapter shall apply to physicians licensed to practice medicine in this
state or employees under the supervision of a physician licensed to practice medicine, or
to the professional corporation or professional association of such physicians.

(d) Nothing in this chapter shall apply to speech pathologists or to audiologists licensed
in this state.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 8§2; Acts 1989, No. 89-268, p. 408, §3; Acts 1991, No. 91-
198, p. 365, 83; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, 83; Act 2016-112, §1.)

Section 34-14-3 Licenses - Issuance; reciprocity; complaints; fees.

(a) The board shall register each applicant without discrimination who pays an
examination fee as prescribed by rule of the board and who satisfactorily passes an
examination as provided in Section 34-14-4, and upon the applicant's payment of the
application fee, shall issue to the applicant a license signed by the board. The license
shall be effective until January 30 of the year following the year in which issued.

(b) An applicant who fulfills the requirements regarding age, character, education, and
health, as set forth in subsection (a) of Section 34-14-4, and who shall provide proof of
having met all state qualifying examination requirements and requirements of
certification as a national board certified hearing aid specialist shall be issued a
dispenser’s license.

(c) An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall submit to the board, in form and
content satisfactory to the board, written proof of all of the following:
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(1) That the applicant is currently licensed as a hearing aid specialist, hearing aid
dispenser, or hearing aid dealer under the laws of another state or the District of
Columbia.

(2) That the requirements for the license are equivalent to or greater than those required
in this state. Minimum acceptable tests shall be approved by the board and shall be at or
above the standards set by the National Institute of Hearing Instrument Studies
examination. Scores from the licensing authority shall be mailed from that authority
directly to the board and the test shall have been taken within the past 12 months.

(3) That the licensee is in good standing and his or her license has not been suspended or
revoked.

(4) That verification of all licenses that have been issued are on file with the board.

(5) That the state that issued the license has a current reciprocity agreement on file with
the board.

(d) An applicant who has a complaint pending against him or her in another state may not
be granted an Alabama license until the complaint is resolved and resolution validated by
the licensing agency of that state.

(e) Any person making application for licensure under this section shall be required to
pass the Alabama law written test and all areas of the practical examination.

(F) The holder of a certificate of endorsement shall be registered in the same manner as a
licensee. The fee for an initial certificate of endorsement shall be the same as the fee for
an initial license. Fees, grounds for renewal, and procedures for the suspension and
revocation of a certificate of endorsement shall be the same as the fees, grounds for
renewal, and procedures for the suspension of a license.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 86; Acts 1985, No. 85-337, 83; Acts 1991, No. 91-198, p.
365, 83; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, 83; Act 2016-112, §1.)

Section 34-14-4 Licenses - Examination of applicants.

(a) Applicants may obtain a license by successfully passing a qualifying examination;
provided, that the applicant:

(1) Is at least 19 years of age;

(2) Is of good moral character;

(3) Has an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high school;

(4) Is free of contagious or infectious disease; and

(5) Is a citizen of the United States or, if not a citizen of the United States, a person who
is legally present in the United States with appropriate documentation from the federal
government.

(b) An applicant who meets the qualifications of subsection (a) as determined by the
board who applies for license by examination shall appear at a time, place, and before
such persons as the board may designate to be examined by means of written and
practical tests in order to demonstrate that he or she is qualified to practice the fitting and
sale of hearing instruments.

(c) The board shall give examinations at least three times each year.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, §7; Acts 1989, No. 89-268, p. 408, §3; Acts 1991, No. 91-
198, p. 365, 83; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, 83; Act 2009-42, p. 142, 83; Act 2016-
112, 81))
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Section 34-14-5 Licenses - Standards and scope of examination.

() The qualifying examination provided in Section 34-14-4 shall be designed to
demonstrate the applicant's adequate technical qualifications by testing the applicant in
three separate sections consisting of a written examination, a practical examination, and a
state law examination. The board may revise standards for the qualifying examination, so
long as the following minimum requirements are satisfied:

(1) Written examination scores from states with existing reciprocity agreements with the
board are considered valid for 12 months from the date of examination in the other state
if the examination is determined by the board to be similar in content to the qualifying
examination required for licensure in this state.

(2) An applicant who fails one or more sections of the qualifying examination may retest
failed sections for the qualifying examination in the following manner:

a. An applicant who fails the written examination section shall retake the entire written
examination section.

b. An applicant who fails the Alabama law section shall retake the entire Alabama law
section.

c. An applicant who fails the practical examination section shall be retested in only those
portions of the practical examination that he or she failed.

d. An applicant who fails to successfully complete a retest pursuant to paragraphs a., b.,
or c., or any combination of these, may retake the entire three-section qualifying
examination within one year from the initial test.

(b) The three-section qualifying examination may not include questions requiring a
medical or surgical education. The purpose of the examination, at a minimum, is to
provide the opportunity for a person with a high school level education, or its equivalent,
with appropriate study through the apprentice training program and training and
supervision under the direction of a licensed dispenser, to enter the profession.

(c) The practical examination section of the qualifying examination shall include all of
the following areas:

(1) Pretest procedure.

(2) Pure tone air conduction and masking.

(3) Pure tone bone conduction and masking.

(4) Speech audiometry and masking.

(5) Ear impressions.

(6) Audiogram interpretation and fitting.

(7) Troubleshooting hearing aids.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 89; Acts 1989, No. 89-268, p. 408, 8§83; Acts 1994, No. 94-
180, p. 224, §83; Act 2016-112, 81.)

Section 34-14-6 Licenses - Renewal; fees; continuing education.

(a) Each person who engages in the fitting and sale of hearing instruments shall annually,
on or before January 30, pay to the board a fee as prescribed by rule of the board for
renewal of his or her license and shall keep such certificate conspicuously posted in his or
her office or place of business at all times. Where more than one office is operated by the
licensee, duplicate certificates shall be issued by the board for posting in each location
upon payment of the fee prescribed by rule of the board. A license may be reinstated and
renewed within two years. The board may renew such expired certificates upon payment
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of a reinstatement fee as prescribed by the board, in addition to the license renewal fee, to
the board. No person who applies for renewal, whose license has expired, shall be
required to submit to any examination as a condition to renewal; provided, that such
renewal application is made within two years from the date of such expiration.

(b) All fees collected by the board shall be set by rule of the board. For calendar year
2016, no single fee shall exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250). For any calendar year
thereafter, no single fee may be increased by more than 20 percent per year.

(c) The board shall maintain a program of continuing education for its licensees. No
licensee shall have his or her active license renewed unless, in addition to any other
requirements of this chapter, the minimum continuing annual education requirements are
met.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 811; Acts 1985, No. 85-337, p. 274, §3; Acts 1989, No.
89-268, p. 408, 8§3; Acts 1991, No. 91-198, p. 365, §3; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, §3;
Act 2016-112, 81.)

Section 34-14-7 Apprentice permit; hearing aid specialist license; supervision and
training.

(@) An applicant who fulfills the requirements regarding age, character, education, and
health, as set forth in subsection (a) of Section 34-14-4, may obtain an apprentice permit
upon application to the board and payment of any required application and permit fees as
prescribed by rule of the board.

(b) Upon receiving an application as provided under this section and accompanied by the
required fees, the board shall issue an apprentice permit which shall entitle the applicant
to engage in the fitting and sale of hearing instruments for a period of one year under the
direct supervision of a person holding a valid Alabama dispenser license or hearing aid
specialist license, when designated by the sponsor, provided the apprentice has
successfully completed the International Institute for Hearing Instrument Studies distance
learning program. A sponsoring dispenser is responsible for the actions and training of
the apprentice. An apprentice permit may be renewed for an additional year, upon terms
and conditions established by the board. An applicant may not be issued a second permit
within a five-year period following the expiration date of the initial permit.

(c) An apprentice or applicant who successfully completes the hearing aid specialist
examination may obtain a hearing aid specialist license upon application to the board, and
payment of the required fees, which shall entitle the applicant to engage in the sale or
fitting of hearing instruments until January 30th of the following year under the direct
supervision of a person holding a current Alabama hearing aid dispenser's license. The
licensed dispenser shall be totally responsible for the supervision of all activities of the
hearing aid specialist pertaining to the sale and fitting of hearing instruments.

(d) The dispenser who is responsible for the supervision and training of an apprentice
shall not have more than four apprentices under his or her supervision at any time. There
shall be no limitations on the number of hearing aid specialists a dispenser may have
under his or her supervision at any given time.

(e) The dispenser responsible for the supervision and training of any apprentice or
hearing aid specialist shall be subject to administrative actions with respect to licensure
and to civil liability for all actions of an apprentice or hearing aid specialist under his or
her supervision when the apprentice or hearing aid specialist engages in unethical,
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prohibited, fraudulent, deceptive, and misleading conduct involving the fitting and
dispensing of hearing instruments.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, §8; Acts 1982, No. 82-146, p. 173, 84; Acts 1985, No. 85-
337, p. 274, 83; Acts 1989, No. 89-268, p. 408, 83; Acts 1991, No. 91-198, p. 365, 83;
Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, 83; Act 2001-250, p. 301, §3; Act 2016-112, 81.)

Section 34-14-8 Business addresses; notices; replacement certificates.

(@) A person who holds a license shall notify the board in writing of the regular address
of the place or places where he or she engages or intends to engage in the fitting or the
sale of hearing instruments.

(b) The board shall keep a record of the place of business of licensees.

(c) Any notice required to be given by the board to a person who holds a license shall be
mailed to him or her at the address of the last place of business of which he or she has
notified the board.

(d) Any change of address, place of business, or sponsor shall be submitted to the board
within 30 days after the change. Replacement certificates shall be issued by the board
upon the payment of the required fee.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 810; Acts 1991, No. 91-198, p. 365, 8§3; Acts 1994, No.
94-180, p. 224, 83; Act 2016-112, 81.)

Section 34-14-9 Complaint and hearing; appeal; disciplinary actions.

(a) Any person wishing to make a complaint against a licensee or apprentice under this
chapter shall reduce the same to writing and file his or her complaint with the board
within one year from the date of the action upon which the complaint is based. If the
board investigates and determines the charges made in the complaint are sufficient to
warrant a hearing to determine whether the license issued under this chapter shall be
suspended or revoked, it shall make an order fixing a time and place for a hearing and
require the licensee complained against to appear and defend against the complaint. The
order shall have annexed thereto a copy of the complaint. The order and copy of the
complaint shall be served upon the licensee at least 20 days before the date set for
hearing, either personally or by registered or certified mail sent to the licensee's last
known address. Continuances or adjournment of hearing date shall be made if for good
cause. At the hearing the licensee complained against may be represented by counsel.
The licensee complained against and the board may take depositions in advance of
hearing and after service of the complaint, and either may compel the attendance of
witnesses by subpoenas issued by the board under its seal. Either party taking depositions
shall give at least five days' written notice to the other party of the time and place of such
depositions, and the other party may attend, with counsel if desired, and cross-examine.
Appeals from suspension or revocation may be made to the circuit court. In the event of
an appeal, there shall be a trial de novo and the trial shall be before the court without the
intervention of a jury.

(b) The board may discipline its licensees and apprentices by the adoption and collection
of administrative fines, not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) per violation and
may institute any legal proceedings necessary to effect compliance with this chapter.

(c) Any person registered under this chapter may have his or her permit or license
revoked or suspended by the board, be reprimanded by the board, or be administratively
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fined not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) per violation by the board for any of
the following causes:

(1) The conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; the record of
conviction or a certified copy thereof, certified by the clerk of the court or by the judge in
whose court the conviction is had, shall be prima facie proof of such conviction.

(2) Procuring of a license by fraud or deceit.

(3) Unethical conduct, including:

a. The obtaining of any fee or the making of any sale by fraud or misrepresentation.

b. Knowingly employing, directly or indirectly, any suspended or unregistered person to
perform any work covered by this chapter.

c. Using or causing or promoting the use of any advertising matter, promotional
literature, testimonial, guarantee, warranty, label, brand, insignia, or any other
representation, however disseminated or published, which is misleading, deceptive, or
untruthful.

d. Advertising a particular model or type of hearing instrument for sale when purchasers
or prospective purchasers responding to the advertisement cannot purchase the advertised
model or type, where it is established that the purpose of the advertisement is to obtain
prospects for the sale of a different model or type than that advertised.

e. Representing that the service or advice of a person licensed to practice medicine shall
be used or made available in the selection, fitting, adjustment, maintenance, or repair of
hearing instruments when that is not true, or using the words "doctor,” "clinic," "balance
clinics,” or similar words, abbreviations, or symbols which tend to connect the medical
profession when such use is not accurate.

f. Habitual intemperance.

g. Gross immorality.

h. Permitting another's use of a license.

i. Advertising a manufacturer's name or trademark which implies a relationship with the
manufacturer that does not exist.

j. Directly or indirectly giving or offering to give, or permitting or causing to be given,
money or anything of value to any person who advises another in a professional capacity
as an inducement to influence him or her or have him or her influence others to purchase
or contract to purchase products sold or offered for sale by a hearing aid dispenser,
hearing aid specialist, or apprentice, or influencing persons to refrain from dealing in the
products of competitors.

(4) Conducting business while suffering from a contagious or infectious disease.

(5) Engaging in the fitting and sale of hearing instruments under a false name or alias
with fraudulent intent.

(6) Selling a hearing instrument to a person who has not been given tests utilizing
appropriate established procedures and instrumentation in fitting of hearing instruments,
except in cases of selling replacement hearing instruments.

(7) Gross incompetence or negligence in fitting and selling hearing instruments.

(8) Violating any provision of this chapter.

(d) The board may bring an action to enjoin any person, firm, or corporation who,
without being licensed or issued a permit by the board, dispenses hearing instruments in
this state. The action shall be filed in the county in which such person resides or practices
or in the county where the firm or corporation maintains an office or practices.
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Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, after notice and hearing, the
board may issue a cease and desist order prohibiting any person from violating this
chapter by engaging in the practice of fitting, selling, or dispensing hearing instruments
without a license.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, §12; Acts 1989, No. 89-268, p. 408, 8§3; Acts 1991, No.
91-198, p. 365, 83; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, 8§3; Act 2009-42, p. 142, §3; Act 2016-
112, 81.)

Section 34-14-9 Complaint and hearing; appeal; disciplinary actions.

(a) Any person wishing to make a complaint against a licensee or apprentice under this
chapter shall reduce the same to writing and file his or her complaint with the board
within one year from the date of the action upon which the complaint is based. If the
board investigates and determines the charges made in the complaint are sufficient to
warrant a hearing to determine whether the license issued under this chapter shall be
suspended or revoked, it shall make an order fixing a time and place for a hearing and
require the licensee complained against to appear and defend against the complaint. The
order shall have annexed thereto a copy of the complaint. The order and copy of the
complaint shall be served upon the licensee at least 20 days before the date set for
hearing, either personally or by registered or certified mail sent to the licensee's last
known address. Continuances or adjournment of hearing date shall be made if for good
cause. At the hearing the licensee complained against may be represented by counsel.
The licensee complained against and the board may take depositions in advance of
hearing and after service of the complaint, and either may compel the attendance of
witnesses by subpoenas issued by the board under its seal. Either party taking depositions
shall give at least five days' written notice to the other party of the time and place of such
depositions, and the other party may attend, with counsel if desired, and cross-examine.
Appeals from suspension or revocation may be made to the circuit court. In the event of
an appeal, there shall be a trial de novo and the trial shall be before the court without the
intervention of a jury.

(b) The board may discipline its licensees and apprentices by the adoption and collection
of administrative fines, not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) per violation and
may institute any legal proceedings necessary to effect compliance with this chapter.

(c) Any person registered under this chapter may have his or her permit or license
revoked or suspended by the board, be reprimanded by the board, or be administratively
fined not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) per violation by the board for any of
the following causes:

(1) The conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; the record of
conviction or a certified copy thereof, certified by the clerk of the court or by the judge in
whose court the conviction is had, shall be prima facie proof of such conviction.

(2) Procuring of a license by fraud or deceit.

(3) Unethical conduct, including:

a. The obtaining of any fee or the making of any sale by fraud or misrepresentation.

b. Knowingly employing, directly or indirectly, any suspended or unregistered person to
perform any work covered by this chapter.

c. Using or causing or promoting the use of any advertising matter, promotional
literature, testimonial, guarantee, warranty, label, brand, insignia, or any other
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representation, however disseminated or published, which is misleading, deceptive, or
untruthful.

d. Advertising a particular model or type of hearing instrument for sale when purchasers
or prospective purchasers responding to the advertisement cannot purchase the advertised
model or type, where it is established that the purpose of the advertisement is to obtain
prospects for the sale of a different model or type than that advertised.

e. Representing that the service or advice of a person licensed to practice medicine shall
be used or made available in the selection, fitting, adjustment, maintenance, or repair of
hearing instruments when that is not true, or using the words "doctor,” "clinic," "balance
clinics,” or similar words, abbreviations, or symbols which tend to connect the medical
profession when such use is not accurate.

f. Habitual intemperance.

g. Gross immorality.

h. Permitting another's use of a license.

i. Advertising a manufacturer's name or trademark which implies a relationship with the
manufacturer that does not exist.

j. Directly or indirectly giving or offering to give, or permitting or causing to be given,
money or anything of value to any person who advises another in a professional capacity
as an inducement to influence him or her or have him or her influence others to purchase
or contract to purchase products sold or offered for sale by a hearing aid dispenser,
hearing aid specialist, or apprentice, or influencing persons to refrain from dealing in the
products of competitors.

(4) Conducting business while suffering from a contagious or infectious disease.

(5) Engaging in the fitting and sale of hearing instruments under a false name or alias
with fraudulent intent.

(6) Selling a hearing instrument to a person who has not been given tests utilizing
appropriate established procedures and instrumentation in fitting of hearing instruments,
except in cases of selling replacement hearing instruments.

(7) Gross incompetence or negligence in fitting and selling hearing instruments.

(8) Violating any provision of this chapter.

(d) The board may bring an action to enjoin any person, firm, or corporation who,
without being licensed or issued a permit by the board, dispenses hearing instruments in
this state. The action shall be filed in the county in which such person resides or practices
or in the county where the firm or corporation maintains an office or practices.
Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, after notice and hearing, the
board may issue a cease and desist order prohibiting any person from violating this
chapter by engaging in the practice of fitting, selling, or dispensing hearing instruments
without a license.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, §12; Acts 1989, No. 89-268, p. 408, 8§3; Acts 1991, No.
91-198, p. 365, 83; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, 8§3; Act 2009-42, p. 142, §3; Act 2016-
112, 81.)

Section 34-14-11 Powers and duties of board.
(a) The board shall perform the following duties:
(1) Authorize all disbursements necessary to carry out the provisions of this chapter;
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(2) Register persons who apply to the board who are qualified to engage in the fitting and
sale of hearing instruments;

(3) Administer, coordinate, and enforce this chapter, evaluate the qualifications and
supervise the examinations of applicants for licensure under this chapter, issue and renew
licenses and permits under this chapter, and investigate allegations of violations of this
chapter;

(4) Promulgate rules and regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of this chapter
and to establish consumer protection provisions, provisions for prohibited practices, and
requirements for businesses;

(5) Issue and renew a dispenser's license to sell and fit hearing instruments to any person
who is duly licensed under the laws of this state as an audiologist; and

(6) Furnish a list of persons licensed under this chapter, upon request and payment of the
required fee.

(b) The board shall be authorized to review individual appeals for exemption from
required certification for a dispenser's license.

(c) The board may subpoena witness's testimony and records for any official hearing or
proceeding of the board.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 814; Acts 1982, No. 82-146, p. 173, 84; Acts 1989, No.
89-268, p. 408, 8§3; Acts 1991, No. 91-198, p. 365, §3; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, §3;
Act 2016-112, 81.)

Section 34-14-12 Prohibited acts and practices.

No person shall:

(1) Sell, barter, or offer to sell or barter a license or permit;

(2) Purchase or procure by barter a license or permit;

(3) Alter a license or permit;

(4) Use or attempt to use as valid a license or permit which has been fraudulently
obtained, counterfeited, or materially altered; or

(5) Willfully make a false statement in an application for license or apprentice permit or
application for renewal of a license.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, §13; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, §3.)

Section 34-14-13 Chapter not applicable to certain persons and practices.

This chapter is not intended to prevent any person from engaging in the practice of
measuring human hearing for the purpose of selection of hearing instruments; provided,
that such person or organization employing such person does not sell hearing instruments
or accessories thereto.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 84; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, 83.)

Section 34-14-14 Penalties.
A violation of this chapter shall be punishable as a Class C misdemeanor.
(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, §19; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, §3.)
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Article 2 Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers.

Section 34-14-30 Creation; composition; compensation.

(a) There is established a Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers which shall administer
this chapter.

(b) Members of the board shall be citizens and residents of the state and appointed by the
Governor. The membership of the board shall be inclusive and reflect the racial, gender,
geographic, urban/rural, and economic diversity of the state. The board shall consist of
eight members as follows: Five licensees, one of whom may be a hearing aid specialist,
one physician who specializes in diseases of the ear, one audiologist, and one consumer
member. The consumer member shall have the same powers as other board members,
except that the consumer member shall have no voting powers in matters of issuing,
suspending, or revoking licenses, and neither the consumer member, nor his or her
spouse, shall be a hearing aid specialist or hearing aid dispenser. Each hearing aid
specialist or hearing aid dispenser on the board shall have no less than three years of
experience and shall hold a valid license as a hearing aid specialist or hearing aid
dispenser, as provided under this chapter. No member of the board shall be from the same
business or firm of another board member, and no member shall be the spouse or
immediate family member of another board member.

(c) All members of the board shall be appointed by the Governor from a list of qualified
persons nominated by the Alabama Society for Hearing Healthcare Providers. The term
of office of each member shall be for four years. Before a member's term expires, the
Governor shall appoint a successor to assume his or her duties upon the expiration of his
or her predecessor's term. A vacancy in the office of a member shall be filled by
appointment for the unexpired term. The members of the board shall annually designate
one member to serve as chair, another to serve as vice chair, and such other officers the
board deems necessary, including a complaints chair.

(d) No member of the board who has served two or more full terms may be reappointed
to the board until at least one year after the expiration of his or her most recent full term
of office.

(e) Members of the board shall receive for each day actually engaged in the duties of the
office a per diem amount of twenty-five dollars ($25), not to exceed the sum of one
thousand dollars ($1,000) per year, and reimbursement for traveling expenses as provided
in Article 2 of Chapter 7 of Title 36, and other expenses, the remuneration and
reimbursement to be paid from appropriations made for this purpose.

(f) The Governor may remove any member for neglect of duty, incompetency, or
unprofessional conduct. The board may employ, and at its pleasure discharge, an
executive secretary and such officers and employees as may be necessary, and the board
shall fix their compensation.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 815; Acts 1989, No. 89-268, p. 408, §3; Acts 1991, No.
91-198, p. 365, 83; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, 8§3; Act 2005-66, p. 93, §3; Act 2009-
42, p. 142, §3; Act 2016-112, §1.)

Section 34-14-31 Attorney General to act as legal adviser.
The Attorney General of the state shall act as legal adviser of the board and shall render
such legal assistance as may be necessary in carrying out the provisions of this chapter.
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(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, §16; Acts 1989, No. 89-268, p. 408, §3; Acts 1994, No.
94-180, p. 224, §3.)

Section 34-14-32 Meetings.

The board shall meet not less than twice each year at a place, day, and hour determined
by the board. The board shall also meet at such other times and places as may be
requested by the state board.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, §17; Act 2016-112, 81.)

Section 34-14-33 Disposition of funds.

(a) Within a week of receiving funds, the board shall pay into the State Treasury all
moneys received by it under this chapter during the preceding calendar month. The State
Treasury shall credit the moneys to the Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers Account,
which account is hereby created.

(b) The moneys in the Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers Account shall remain, and
the board may use funds in the account for the purpose of paying the expenses of
administering and enforcing the provisions of this chapter.

(Acts 1971, No. 2425, p. 3858, 818; Acts 1994, No. 94-180, p. 224, §3; Act 2016-112,
8§1.)

Section 34-14-34 Fees.

() The board shall establish fees by rule adopted pursuant to the Alabama Administrative
Procedure Act. The board may impose fees of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25) nor
more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each of the following:

(1) Initial application fee for an apprentice permit, hearing aid specialist license, and
hearing aid dispenser license.

(2) License fee for a hearing aid specialist license and for a hearing aid dispenser license.
(3) Renewal fee for the renewal of a hearing aid specialist license and the renewal of a
hearing aid dispenser license.

(4) Permit fee for an apprentice permit.

(5) Renewal fee for an apprentice permit.

(6) Qualifying examination and retest examination fees.

(7) Late filing fee for a business statement of compliance.

(8) Late renewal fee.

(9) Reinstatement license fee.

(10) Duplicate license, certificate, or permit fee.

(11) Replacement license, certificate, or permit fee.

(12) Verification of license fee.

(13) Mailing list fee.

(14) Returned check fee.

(15) Special assessment fee.

(b) A fee may not be refunded to an applicant or licensee under any circumstances.

(Act 2016-112, 82.)
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Professional Services by Vendor

2016 2017 2018 2019

Administrative Services

Department of Finance $ 3,199.10 $3,025.16 $ 1,662.62 $ 3,109.29

International Hearing Society - - - 650.00

Legislative Reference Service 1,210.00 - 550.00 250.00
Total Administrative Services 4,409.10 3,025.16 2,212.62 4,009.29
Data Processing Services

Department of Finance - - 1,350.00 -
Total Professional Services $ 4,409.10 $ 3,025.16 $ 3,562.62 $ 4,009.29

33



Board Members

STATE OF ALABAMA

HEARING INSTRUMENT DEALERS BOARD
400 S. Union Street, Suite 235B
Montgomery, AL 36104
(334) 593-3777

TO: Examiners of Public Accounts
DATE: February 11, 2020

SUBJECT: Current Board Members

D. Scott Dishman, Chairman
Term Expires 12/1/21
Huntsville AL

Amy Farmer, Board Member
Term Expires 12/31/20
Dothan AL

Grace White, Board Member
Term Expires 12/31/20
Montgomery AL

Joshua Wright, Board Member
Term Expires 12/31/23
Homewood AL

Michelle Stone, Audiologist Board Member
Term Expires 12/31/23
Orange Beach AL

Zachary Watson, Board Member
Term Expires 12/31/23
Madison AL

Consumer Board Member
Vacant

Physician Board Member
Vacant

Sincerely, -
e 9 =R
Marilyn Fletcher
Executive Secretary
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Board’s Response to Significant Issues

STATE OF ALABAMA

HEARING INSTRUMENT DEALERS BOARD
400 S. Union Street, Suite 2358
Montgomery, AL 36104
(334) 593-3777

May 19, 2020

Maria Catledge

Director, Operational Division

Department of Examiners of Public Accounts
P. O. Box 302251

Montgomery AL 36130-2251

Subject: Response to Significant Issues/Prior Findings

Dear Ms. Catledge:

The following response is provided for your consideration with respect to Significant Issues/

Status of Prior Findings for the Sunset Committee report.
Significant Issue 2020-01

Response:

The Board is sympathetic to licensees regarding over the counter (OTC) and internet sales of
hearing aids. However it cannot prohibit by statute or rule an activity permitted by federal law.

The Board does continue to protect the public though its licensure, adoption of practice
regulations and enforcement of those regulations.

Prior Finding 2019-01

Response;

The board was made aware of the 45 days to post vacancies on the Secretary of State's website as
aresult of the expiration of a board member whose term expires. The board is taking the

necessary steps to ensure compliance with the Open Meeting Act requirements.
If you need any additional information, please feel free to contact our office.
Sincerely,

Marilyn Fletcher

Executive Secretary
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